Seven Richmond Academy participants have been selected in the 25-player Laguntas squad, to play the Jim Stynes squad at Punt Road Oval this Saturday.

In its fifth year, the Laguntas program provides an alternate talent pathway for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander footballers aged between 15 and 18.

The Laguntas squad will arrive at Richmond’s Punt Road Oval headquarters on Friday afternoon and complete a number of cultural and football activities, as well as Saturday’s match, before departing on Sunday morning.

Richmond Academy participants include Kobe Brown, Kailen Walker, Anthony Walker, Raman Winmar, Hakeem Johnson, Coen Cooper and David Smith.

The Jim Stynes squad also features two Richmond Academy players – Hugo Ingham (Murray Bushrangers) and Phil Moimoi (Bendigo Pioneers).

Northern Knights is the highest represented TAC Cup club, with six participants selected in the Laguntas line-up, which is this year being coached by Dan Charles.

The program is joint-initiative of Richmond’s centre for Indigenous youth, the Korin Gamadji Institute, and AFL Victoria, with support also provided by Vic Health and Probuild.

Richmond utility Nathan Drummond will present an award to the player judged best on field following Saturday’s match, which kicks off at 11am.

2017 Laguntas squad
Cori Corrigan (North Ballarat Rebels)
Kobe Brown (Bendigo Pioneers)
Coen Cooper (Bendigo Pioneers)
Kailen Walker (Bendigo Pioneers)
Phillip Soloman (Murray Bushrangers)
Anthony Walker (Murray Bushrangers)
Raman Winmar (Murray Bushrangers)
David Smith (Murray Bushrangers)
Thomas Bradshaw (Gippsland Power)
Lachlan McDonald (Gippsland Power)
Harold Hood (Gippsland Power)
Cody Harrison (Gippsland Power)
Dale Cox (Greater Western Victoria)
Reagan Nutting (Greater Western Victoria)
Dylan Starkie (Greater Western Victoria)
Terrell Wellington (Northern Knights)
Cameron Wild (Northern Knights)
Mitch Wild (Northern Knights)
Corey Potter (Northern Knights)
Jamaica Ilsley (Northern Knights)
Brock Perichon (Northern Knights)